Little Things

Back from my spring wanderings and, as often after a trip where everything is different and new, I find I tend to focus on the little things at home on the farm.

We had been having some problems before I left with the chicken waterers. Really hard to get the covers off once that vacuum was created. Also hard to clean. I just didn’t have time to do anything about it before I left. But after seeing the waterers my friends had on the croft I decided to look into it upon my return. Voila! New waterers. Easy to open and easy to keep clean.

Something else I have been meaning to deal with is the drying of my fleeces. After carefully sorting and washing them, I tended to lose a little to the wind when drying them outdoors. My friend Colleen had shown me this idea awhile back but had not implemented it yet. By placing tulle (netting) on a drying rack and then the fleece on top, you can cover the drying fleece with more tulle which keeps it from blowing away and also keeps it from falling through the spaces on these racks, while giving the air room to move around the fleece, thereby drying it pretty quickly (especially when the temperatures are well over 100 which they are this week!)

 

Finally, not a problem I anticipated. I was looking for the sheep and could only find the camelids out. Where were they?

Nellie, “This was not my fault!”

They had managed to shut themselves in the barn! I managed to get them all back out, except Lessie, who was happy to help me in the hay room.

I may need to find a way to  keep this gate open after I open up in the morning. Perhaps an eyebolt in the wall and a chain and clip.

And now, something not related to this blog topic in particular but very much related to living on this farm. My husband grew up on a farm and even had sheep at one time. Over the years of living here when we would go back home to visit his family, I would have conversations with his Dad about farming practices in the past. When he saw we were serious about having sheep, he even gave me a couple of his sheep books and another book that is a compilation of old Farm Journals. These are so fascinating to look at.

But even more fascinating were my conversations with my father-in-law, glimpses into how things used to be. I had always thought of him as a man of few words but it did not take much to get him talking about farming. I think he knew every piece of equipment ever made and a lot about various sheep breeds, as well as cattle, chickens and pigs.

This past week my father-in-law was laid to rest. We will all miss him a lot. Thanks, Dad, for the books but most of all for all the good talks.

books

 

 

Published in: on June 16, 2017 at 10:55 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2017/06/16/little-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

