New Barn Build – Day 2

After giving it a little thought, I decided getting Paridot into his halter and then leading the whole group over to the other pasture was my best bet. He wasn’t impressed with this idea.

pari in halter

After chasing him around the barn a little – and a few llama cookies – he decided to cooperate. He is always good once the halter is on, just doesn’t like the idea of it. As I suspected, it was easy to lead the group where I wanted them to go.

following us

Getting some of them to want to stay there was another story. After distributing some hay to the group I headed back to the gate, only to find that Nellie had the same idea. I had to race her to the gate – and it was a close call. She is such a drama queen.

"Wait - what? You're leaving?!"

“Wait – what? You’re leaving?!”

"How do you unlock this thing?!"

“How do you unlock this thing?!”

"Get me out of here!!!"

“Get me out of here!!!”

Needless to say, she finally calmed down.

I discovered that I did not have the electrical permitted and that I had not ordered fill for the floor of the barn. Little details. I am not cut out to be a general contractor! This dump truck took care of the fill issue and the permitting will be handled tomorrow.

dump truck

Here’s what it looks like end of Day 2. The footings are in for the cement to be poured.

end of day 2 work

The flock was very happy to be let out of their “containment” pasture and stopped to admire the new work.

gate open

sheep inspect

This photo, taken late in day, is a little dark, but it gives you an idea of where the new barn is going relative to the old barn. I can’t wait to see what excitement tomorrow brings!

from above

Published in: on August 12, 2015 at 8:23 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2015/08/12/new-barn-build-day-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This barn project very exciting, Jackie! It’s so much fun to watch a large structure take shape from the ground up! —Mary

  2. Oh I had to smile at your adventure today. I know exactly what you are talking about and could just imagine the scene. We had to clip our alpaca toe nails today and one still needs doing this evening – he led us a merry dance this morning. Another needed some treatment as flies are bothering a wound she has, she is not impressed at our attempts to do this and does not want to find out what we are going to do next. Keeps us entertained anyway


Leave a Reply

