Marley – a true gentleman sheep

Sadly, we lost Marley this week after a short illness. Looking back through our many photos of him, we could see even more of his giant personality.

I first met Marley at Black Sheep Gathering in Oregon. He wasn’t going to be used as a breeder ram and needed a home with someone who would appreciate his wool. We became that family and he joined us in California at the age of two.

 

 

 

Jackie and Marley

Before we had our farm, Marley lived with our other small flock at a friend’s pasture.

marley with sid, winnie, wilma

Marley’s favorite activity by FAR was eating…..

finally where I belong!

grape leaves

hay face

i like eating inside

marley eating leaves

His least favorite activity was getting sheared. And he always had something to say about THAT!

marley getting sheared

hey, you guys are next - run!

He was halter-broke…sort of

marley isready for his next adventure!

marley in van - head

But he really just preferred hanging out…with sheep when he had to but he loved being with people.

nellie, %22marley whybaren't we in the orchard?%22

by me

 

where are we going says marley?I'm really interested in what Shelby's doing!

He didn’t like the heat, was curious about everything, and could get himself into some odd predicaments….

this heat is terrible says marley

Marley checking out my knittingat truckmarley stuck, #2

Occasionally, Marley asked me if he could write a post in this blog. He was always insightful, had his own way of explaining things and gave the blog a different view point. He added a unique character to the flock that cannot be replaced. We are honored to have known him for these last few years. Enjoy your new green pastures, Marley.

Marley chewing hay - head shot

Published in: on December 21, 2013 at 6:22 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2013/12/21/marley-a-true-gentleman-sheep/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Jackie, I am so sorry to hear of Marleys passing to greener pastures. I will miss the pictures posted of him and your witty remarks.

  2. Jackie, I’m so sad to hear about Marley. He was a good soul and I will miss him. XOOXOX—Mary

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. I’m so sorry to hear of Marley’s passing. He will be missed.

  4. I am so sorry to hear about Marley. I am sad to think he won’t be there when I next come to visit but am also so thankful to have had him in my life.

  5. What a wonderful post, Jackie. Marley was an exceptional sheep. I am so sorry for your loss — and the flock’s. He will be missed.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. So much personality and character in that big boy. I am really sorry to read that you lost him.


Leave a Reply

