Headed for Merino Land

I began the wooly part of my adventure today. Got up early to catch a train but found out that, due to extensive work on the tracks, it would be a bus for a couple hours and then a train for the last hour or so. It all worked out fine. I tried to take photos from the train ( the bus was just on main highways) but it was hard as I couldn’t see what was coming up and , of course, I was really only interested in seeing some sheep ( or maybe kangaroos) but it was tricky. The scenery was vast and very green.

20121120-001005.jpg

20121120-001125.jpg
Yes, those tiny things around the water ARE sheep. I will enlarge at home where I have better photo management!

I had made arrangements with a very nice couple to visit their Colored Merinos – several hundred on about 800 acres. We visited all the different groups:

Rams (who love bread – who knew?!)

20121120-001447.jpg
Ewes with lambs

20121120-001606.jpg

Look at this mom and babe….

20121120-001840.jpg

And look at this wool!

I got to visit their wool shed and see their shearing set up and how the wool is packed. My host, Broni, is a wool classer so I learned a lot about the process from her.

20121120-002535.jpg

I spend another day with them tomorrow – for more wooly adventures!

20121120-002759.jpg

Published in: on November 20, 2012 at 8:30 am  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/headed-for-merino-land/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for coming! We’re looking forward to having more time tomorrow to share more of our be-ewe-tiful Merinos with you!!

    • Broni, You may be making a Merino fan out of me yet! Really looking forward to another day with you.

  2. Excellent!!!

    • Thanks for checking in! Hope you are enjoying my trip!

  3. Purchases? Any of that crimpy, gray wool? πŸ˜‰ Great countryside photos even on the move!

    • Would love to but their market is not hand spinners. It was amazing, though! Got some photos of an Australian sunrise this AM as I couldn’t sleep past 5:30. Kangaroo ran by but missed it!

  4. Wow! Beautiful fleece. Beautiful landscape.

    • Their fleeces are amazing – they have super fine and ultra fine – and I think even I could tell the difference. May become a merino fan yet!

  5. The countryside is so big and so green! The wool looks amazing. So glad it’s working out.

    • Looks like I’ll have pretty good weather while I’m here, too. Got a little warm yesterday ( you know how I love the heat. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

