Socks

Last month I had a chance to visit the Oakland Fiber and Textile Festival for the first time. It is their third year and I think they are off to a good start. I had a couple reasons to go besides to shop. I wanted to drop off some California Red fleeces to Morro Fleece Works to have them made into roving. I have always processed all my own fleeces but I have gotten a little behind and was curious to see how they would turn out. Here’s the three fleeces – they are all different so I asked to have them processed separately, not combined.

I can’t wait to see how they turn out!

The other thing on my agenda that day was to turn in some socks I made for afghans for Afghans.

I really enjoyed working with this yarn – Shepherd’s Wool from Stonehedge Fiber Mill in Michigan.

I have been knitting items for them for a couple years now. Check out their website for more information.

This is a very hard-working group of volunteers. I think knitting is the easy part. They do the hard part of packing the items and figuring out how to get these warm items to the women and children of Afghanistan where they are desperately needed for the upcoming winter. Handing them off to Keiko, one of the volunteers, was a rewarding part of the day!

Published in: on August 4, 2012 at 4:58 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2012/08/04/socks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

