Hoof Trimming

Every once in awhile, hooves need trimming. I haven’t figured out a schedule for this yet but decided it must be time. This is the first time to do it at the farm so I thought about the set up for this and actually began with a plan!

I decided to use the same system – sort of – that we used for shearing. Getting the sheep into one of the covered stalls seemed like the best idea. So, I arranged the equipment in the same one we used for shearing. I brought in my sheep stand, ramp, panels, and the all important grain trays (for bribing – never underestimate the power of bribing sheep – or llamas).

Next was to let the sheep out of the barn into the barnyard rather than into a pasture (from which I would have no hope of luring them once they started grazing). This time, I thought ahead to block off the hay storage area (haven’t been that smart in the past and have ended up with sheep being thrilled they had found the mother-lode of hay).

The flock wait expectantly for their next adventure……

Sid, "Any idea what's going on Nellie?" "Nope, but I think I can open this gate!"

Well, I got to the gate before Nellie did and the flock moved into the barnyard.

Marley quickly checked out the stall and decided that maybe he didn’t want to stay in there after all (could he have guessed what was going to happen?!)

Panels are great for trapping sheep – and the grain helps, too.

I have learned to tie Marley up rather than trying to get him on the stand – he just doesn’t like it. Although, he’s also not that thrilled at being tied up.

Marley’s hooves were challenging – really rather tough. But I got through them finally. Then, I decided to give him some grain for a treat but leave him tethered while I tried to get through a few more sheep. Marley really didn’t understand the whole process, I guess.

"Is this think for my bath???"

The Shetlands were really overly cooperative.

Paridot, "Girls, I don't think you're both supposed to be up there at the same time!"

But their hooves were a lot easier to trim than Marley’s. Wilma was the only one I did who really got with the program of how the sheep stand is supposed to be used.

End of hoof trimming – four sheep done. Let’s see, that leaves 24 hooves left to do!

Published in: on January 14, 2012 at 8:35 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2012/01/14/hoof-trimming/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Actually Jackie, Marley had the right idea. After one gets their nail (hooves) clipped….then one gets a foot spa….Don’t you know Jackie that’s part of the pedicure. hahahaha

    • Thanks for reminding me, Kathi. As usual, Marley is right!


Leave a Reply

