Farmyard Needlefelting

At the suggestion of my friend, Marc, I decided to make knitted, felted mats in the same way I do my mug rugs and potholders. I just increased the dimensions and was pleased to find they felted just fine and provided me with some very soft, thick mats on which to create some needlefelted designs. So, what to put on them? Nothing better for a first set of placemats than some of the animals from Robin’s farm. I thought it would make a nice Christmas present for Robin. You can read about some of Robin’s adventures with her animals (and other things) on her blog available at her website: Meridian Jacobs.

I spun roving from Robin’s Jacob Sheep in the colors of dark grey, natural multi-colored, lilac and dark brown. Then, how to decide which animals to use? Well, on shearing day I asked my friend Dona to see if she could get me some photos of Amaryllis the donkey and Stephanie the goat. She got some great ones. Then, from Robin’s blog I was able to get photos of a fearless little Bantam chicken that hangs out in the barn, dodging between the sheep’s feet and entertaining us as we work on barn chores. Finally, a Jacob ram had to be featured so I chose a photo of Robin’s Lilac ram, Hudson.

I had to decide which animal looked best on which mat, so I laid out their photos. Hudson the Lilac ram had to go on the lilac Jacob mat and then I just placed the others as I thought they would look best, color-wise.

Next, I traced each photo onto stabilizer fabric which I then attached to each mat, allowing me to needle felt directly onto the mat. Below are the finished mats, with detail photos. It was a challenging project, but fun and rewarding, too. I think I’ll make some more mats and try out some other needle felting ideas!

Published in: on January 12, 2012 at 10:52 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/farmyard-needlefelting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. They turned out great.

    • Thanks! I really appreciated your suggestions as I tackled this project. I think I am really getting to like needle felting – and you were my first teacher!

  2. Jackie, These came out amazing. I’m floored!

  3. Jackie…Can’t believe this is the first time you’ve done something like this. Great job. You’re a very talented woman.

  4. They are great on my dining room table! Thanks, Jackie.

  5. Beautiful work, Jackie! You are a very talented lady 🙂

    • Thanks, Shannon. That is high praise coming from you!


Leave a Reply

