A Visit with Galway Sheep to end my English Adventure

At the end of the last post, I introduced you to the British Galway Sheep. There was one exhibitor of Galways at the Sheep Show. I spent a little time talking with the owners and, well, I ended up inviting myself to their farm! I had left the end of the trip open by a day in case I found something else sheep-related I could do. Pam and her husband generously offered to let me visit their flock. I had planned to take a taxi there but they surprised me by picking me up at my hotel in Melton Mowbray – with Ben, their Border Collie in the back of the vehicle. What a treat!

The Galway Sheep are originally from Ireland – and are still there. But since 1990 there is now a British Galway. They are classed as a longwool breed (think Wensleydale) and have quite fine wool. The Galways are large sheep but are pretty docile. We were able to walk through several pastures of them.

Ben, their Border Collie, is not always thrilled about being too close to the sheep as he has been “tossed” a couple times by the rams. But he was willing to pose here.

But, here, he is ready to go get these guys.

A month ago here we would have been even more jealous of this green pasture, but it is still pretty amazing.

And if the pasture isn’t enough, apparently the trees are pretty tasty, too.

The pasture set-up is interesting. Sometimes you have to cross a stile to get from one pasture to another – something I have never had to do in the States!

Also, I learned that there are things that can keep you from getting gas lines put underground – Iron Age ruins and badger setts. Historical artifacts and protected animals can really affect land use plans. Even though the badgers are no longer endangered their home – setts – cannot be disturbed.

They may just look like holes, but they are badger homes or setts

We visited their old rams, Adam and William.

Even the rams like a little extra bit of attention.

And the young rams were pretty impressive, too.

Pam does some beautiful knitting with her flock’s wool – and is a spinner as well. Here is a sweater dress she knitted for her granddaughter.

Yet another breed whose wool I will be trying out!

The visit to the Galway farm was a special opportunity to see some very nice sheep and I appreciate Pam and her husband’s hospitality.

"Thank you for visiting us. Please come back again!"

Published in: on October 18, 2011 at 4:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/a-visit-with-galway-sheep-to-end-my-english-adventure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

