Waiting

One of my goals for 2011 is to be involved in more lambing experiences. Robin at Meridian Jacobs called me this morning to let me know that her Jacob ewe, Moon, might lamb this morning. When I arrived, Moon was sequestered in her lambing jug but, other than looking uncomfortable, nothing much was happening.

Other ewes have begun lambing.

But Moon decided that AM was not her time for lambing.

Chicken says, "It's much easier just laying eggs!"

I passed some of the waiting time doing some spinning. Here is some white wool I am spinning from Jacob  Tina – her lamb fleece.

I may ply it with this dyed Jacob. Not sure yet.

Checked in on Moon early afternoon. Nothing doing. So, went over to my flock to deliver some alfalfa and check on my animals.

"We're fine, but thanks for the hay!"

Went back to Robin’s and watched her and Rusty move some sheep to new quarters.

Around 2 PM, Moon produced her first little ewe lamb….

…and her second ewe lamb about 45 minutes later.

Congratulations, Moon. It was well worth the wait!

Published in: on March 1, 2011 at 3:57 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/waiting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

