A Wonderful Surprise

Awhile back I carded some Jacob wool into some pretty batts. I thought that my friend Diana’s daughter, Sarah, might like to try spinning some Jacob as she had recently learned to spin. Diana shared with me that Sarah had spun it and that she, Diana, was knitting something interesting with it and she’d show it to me when she finished it. I was looking forward to seeing something knitted with a more finely spun Jacob than I usually spin. Also, Diana is an amazing knitter and I am always interested in seeing what she comes up with.

She chose a shawl pattern, Undine, and did an amazing job of using the natural color of the Jacob to produce a very beautiful lace pattern. This was enhanced by the way in which Sarah managed the colors as she spun it.

Here’s a close up so you can see some of the details.

And, the very best part, when I asked Diana if I could take a photo of it for my blog, she told me that I could – because it was a gift for me!

Thanks, Diana and Sarah. This was a very nice surprise!

Published in: on February 23, 2011 at 11:38 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2011/02/23/a-wonderful-surprise/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is just gorgeous!

  2. Wow! You’re One Lucky Carder!

  3. You are most welcome. It was a pleasure to knit it for you.

  4. It is beautiful! That is a wonderful surprise 🙂


Leave a Reply

