Knitting and Peace

I started knitting a couple years ago for an organization, afghans for Afghans. It was founded in 2001 as a way to provide some much needed wool clothing to the people of Afghanistan. The hope is that, by providing these warm, hand-knitted and crocheted items, we are also showing that we care for these people who continue to struggle in a war-torn country. I have several friends who do this as well so it is also fun to share what we each are doing.

Afghans for Afghans put out a call for another shipment to go at the end of January. This one will go to a girls’ school. I decided to do a child’s sweater this time. I found an interesting looking pattern at Meridian Jacobs. Robin carries the “Knitting Pure and Simple” pattern line which always is a good choice for me of simple, well-written patterns.

I found a yarn I really liked at Yarn Boutique,  my local yarn shop. It is Plymouth Yarn’s Galway.

All items made for this program must be made with mostly wool (alpaca and angora are also ok) as it is the fiber that will keep people the warmest and is very durable. This beautiful green shade is flecked with almost Crayola crayon colors, which I hope will be attractive to a child.

The sweater became my travel knitting project as we headed to Michigan to spend time with family over the holidays. While there, I made a stop at the local shop which specializes in buttons and found these beautiful ones for the sweater.

As I finished the sweater upon returning home and stitched on the buttons, I liked to think of a little girl wearing this to keep warm she goes to school. It was a nice way to start the new year.

Published in: on January 3, 2011 at 4:52 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/knitting-and-peace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful sweater – thanks for doing this on behalf of all of us!


Leave a Reply

