Laura’s Yarn

At last year’s Shearing Day at Meridian Jacobs I told my friend, Tina, that I would spin the fleece she got that day – from a Jacob ewe named “Laura”. It was a beautiful fleece and I was looking forward to spinning it. Around that time I got a drum carder and was learning how to process my wool on that.

This neat piece of equipment lets you prepare wool for spinning by opening it up and producing batts of wool. Generally, I find it helpful to produce a better product for spinning. However, I struggled with Laura’s fleece for some reason. It just seemed that no matter how much I carded it, I still had some un-opened areas of the fleece when spinning it. It is a very nice fleece and this may just have been its characteristic this year or maybe just my carding skills weren’t very developed.

However, as it turned out, this was a look Tina was happy with – a little more rustic-looking.

detail of skein

I didn’t keep track of how much yardage this fleece produced but here are the last several skeins. They are a gorgeous brown color, with white highlights. I am so fond of this fleece that I’ve put it on my “wish list” for this year’s Shearing Day – coming up soon on November 13!

 

 

Published in: on October 29, 2010 at 5:54 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/lauras-yarn/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s gorgeous!!!

  2. Wow, the yarn is beautiful! I think it was a blessing the fleece carded up the way it did for you! The rustic look is just gorgeous. Really well done! 🙂

    • Thanks for the feedback. I, too, am really pleased with the result. Looking forward to more of it soon!


Leave a Reply

