Are Llamas Smarter Than People?

I once read a book on sheep and goats where the author said that he felt he was smarter than sheep but feared it was a toss up when it came to goats. I am beginning to feel that way about sheep and llamas. I can usually stay ahead of my sheep’s thinking. However, I am finding Paridot really challenging.

I decided that perhaps upping the grain bribe would encourage him to stay around me more so I could get his halter on. I bought some sweet cob.

 

Isn't this a nice looking bag?

 

 

OK - if you were a llama, wouldn't you like that?!

 

I got some into feeding dishes and this pail and headed into the pasture. I put them on the roof of the goat shelter for a moment.

 

Look who can reach the roof!

 

Well, no photos of what happened next. Almost got the halter on but it wasn’t on right so I took it off. That was a mistake. Paridot quickly learned to eat the grain but move away before I could get the halter on. I ended up with empty grain bowls and sore feet from Marley stepping on me trying to get the grain before Paridot could get it. I finally gave up and let the sheep have the grain.

Paridot expressed his great disdain for me by lying down just out of my reach.

 

"Ha! I won again - good grain and no halter!"

 

My new plan is to skip the halter for awhile and just get Paridot happy eating by me and letting me touch him without the halter being an issue. As I finished up by moving more alfalfa from my van to the tarps, Paridot decided he could snack as it passed by. Llama wins again.

Published in: on October 27, 2010 at 1:52 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2010/10/27/are-llamas-smarter-than-people/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It seems Paridot is turning out to be a challenge. And here I was asking Evan for a llama for Christmas!

    Keep up the great posts.

  2. I think llamas are excellent at reading a situation and deciding if it is really in their best interest to cooperate or not! I love my llama, but he can make a simple task rather difficult 🙂 I have a few sheep that have discovered if they hide underneath him then the border collie can’t get them…little stinkers.

    • I hope your sheep don’t talk to my sheep. I have enough trouble moving them around – which I hope will get easier once my Border Collie gets trained!


Leave a Reply

