Getting hay

When my sheep friends talk about getting hay, they mean tens or hundreds of bales. With my small flock, it means getting a couple of bales of alfalfa. Even though a small operation, it is quite a process. Lacking a truck, my van serves as the hay transportation device. Two bales nicely fit into the back on a tarp (although I still always end up with loose hay!)

 

As soon as the sheep see me with hay, they get very friendly

"Look, Wilma, she's bringing hay again!"

As usual, the boys are hanging out at the feeder

The next step is to get the hay out of the van and over to where I store it. A dolly is handy for this.

I stack it next to the pasture so it’s easy to feed them.

Paridot finally shows some interest in my appearance (more on this rascal in my next post)

As the rains may be coming soon, it’s important to get the hay covered up completely.

It rained just before I got there and these seed pods caught my attention. Pretty soon things will be green again!

Published in: on October 20, 2010 at 6:41 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/getting-hay/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

