Michigan

I just returned from a trip to Michigan, visiting with family and friends and checking in at Paws With A Cause. It was a particularly warm and beautiful week in October. I was able to get a few pictures of the changing fall foliage, something I miss the intensity and variety of in northern California.

 

Maple in Post family yard

 

 

 

Maple in Allegan, MI

 

I didn’t see any real fiber this trip, but did visit a display of specially painted rams (the local high school mascot) looking out over the Rockford Dam on the Rogue River. It was really an amazing sight. Here’s the group and a few of my favorite individual rams. Purchased by local businesses and clubs, this is a fundraiser for the school district.

 

 

Rams at the Dam

 

 

 

 

 

 

wine country ram

 

While in Rockford, a local merchant asked me if I had seen the new Lincoln bronze statue. Transported from California (!), this wonderfully life-sized statue of Lincoln now sits near a river walk, welcoming people to take a moment to sit and rest by him.

No sheep this trip, but I was attracted to some chickens on a farm near my in-laws’s. I hadn’t seen shade and nesting structures like these before. I hope they’ve thought ahead to winter as these won’t be enough protection for Michigan winter!

I didn’t know how curious and responsive chickens were – as we stopped to look at them and talk, they followed us along their fence – going back and forth as we moved!

 

 

Very curious chickens!

 

My husband’s uncle and aunt run a local farm stand as part of their produce business. I bought a few local gourds to bring back and also got a chance to see our cousin’s version of catnip mice – very different and colorful!

 

 

pumpkin patch at farm stand

 

 

A very nice trip but, as always, glad to be home!

Published in: on October 14, 2010 at 2:55 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/michigan-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Love those rams!


Leave a Reply

