Lambtown

This was my second year attending Lambtown – a festival in Dixon with fiber vendors, classes, sheep and wool show and great food. This year I mostly helped Robin of Meridian Jacobs with her booth and class registration.

Meridian Jacobs booth

I did take time out for lunch with friends.

Tina and Shelby enjoying lamb and sharing my deep fried asparagus!

I didn’t get out to the barns for the sheep show but took time to visit with some Jacob Sheep that Robin had set up into a petting area near the exhibitor hall.

Jacobs in petting area

I got a few ribbons for items I entered in the textile competition.

My ruana, capelet and mug rugs

My favorite items that I’m making right now are mug rugs – wool coasters to set a coffee or tea mug on. Sometimes I add embellishments – vintage style buttons and needle felting.

Pewter flower - Jacob Wool

Needle felted sheep - Mystery Breed!

Pawprint - Navajo-Churro Wool

On Sunday I took a Natural Dyeing class taught by Rebecca Burgess. It was a fantastic class that introduced me to the “hows” and “whys” of using natural dyes.

Copper kettle - dyeing with coffee berry

I hope to do some of this type of dyeing soon – probably starting with the black walnuts that are currently ripening in our area.

Walnut tree in Robin's yard

Among other things, today we explored dyeing with black walnuts, coffeeberry, French broom, Madrone bark and indigo. Here are my results – a very rewarding day!

Published in: on October 5, 2010 at 5:37 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://woolyadventures.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/lambtown/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

